Published Kittiwakes

Photos published in book

Last May I was contacted by Bloomsbury Publishers (London, UK) about a book which they had in the works about Kittiwakes.

During their search for photo material they came across two of my photos which they wanted to include. Of course I was honored that they wanted to use some of my work so I immediately gave my permission and sent them copies suitable for publishing. In return I was going to be sent a copy of the published book.

When the book was published in September I was quickly sent my copy and on receiving it I was thoroughly impressed by it.

TheKittiwake
Author: John C. Coulson
Pub Date: September 2011
ISBN 9781408109663
Format: Hardback
Dimensions: 234x156mm
Extent: 312 pages
Illustrations:  8-page colour section

It is a very well written and highly detailed overview of research done in various Kittiwake colonies (primarily in the UK) over a span of more than 50 years. This has resulted in a wealth of information with answers to the most detailed questions you can imagine. Even though it is full of facts and figures, it is never boring and each page adds to a seemingly never ending list of intriguing trivia.

I have been reading it on the train to work every morning over the last couple of weeks and am thoroughly enjoying it. It is giving me an insight to a beautiful species of gull which I have seen on a few occasions but have not yet been able to study properly. I am certainly hoping to be able to observe it in a colony for real some time in the future, if only to be able to apply the new knowledge in the field.

I can thoroughly recommend the book: it not only gives a great insight into the life of Kittiwakes but to gulls in general.

Oh, and in case you are wondering, these are my 2 photos that are published in this book:

Black-legged Kittiwake, 2cy
Black-legged Kittiwake, 2nd-calendar year, Boulogne-sur-Mer, France, July 20, 2010

Black-legged Kittiwake, adult
Black-legged Kittiwake, adult, Boulogne-sur-Mer, France, July 20, 2010

More of my other Kittiwake photos can be seen here.

Leave a Reply

